About Us

The New Democrat Coalition is made up of 68 forward-thinking Democrats who are committed to pro-economic growth, pro-innovation, and fiscally responsible policies. New Democrats are a solutions oriented coalition seeking to bridge the gap between left and right by challenging outmoded partisan approaches to governing. New Democrats believe the challenges ahead are too great for Members of Congress to refuse to cooperate purely out of partisanship.  


The New Democrat Coalition Leadership Team for the 115th Congress:

  • Chair: Rep. Jim Himes (CT-04)
  • Vice-Chair for Communications: Rep. Suzan DelBene (WA-01)
  • Vice-Chair for Policy Coordination: Rep. Derek Kilmer (WA-06)
  • Vice-Chair for Member Services: Rep. Jared Polis (CO-02)
  • Vice-Chair for Outreach: Rep. Terri Sewell (AL-07)
  • Whip: Rep. Gerry Connolly (VA-11)
  • Leadership Member: Rep. Kathleen Rice (NY-04)
  • Leadership Member: Rep. Scott Peters (CA-52)
  • Chair Emeritus: Rep. Ron Kind (WI-03)